Press "Enter" to skip to content

NIIFT Students Shine Bright

Students of Master of Design (Fashion & Textiles) – M. Des (F & T), M.Sc. Fashion Marketing and Management – M.Sc. (FMM) and M.Sc. Garment Manufacturing and Technology – MSc (GMT) of Northern India Institute of Fashion Technology, NIIFT, Mohali recently presented their final degree projects at the NIIFT Campus.

Understanding Market Conditions

Mr Charandeep Singh, PCS, Director, NIIT Mohali, said, “The presentations made by the students gave a deep analysis of the market conditions and manufacturing competitiveness and were of a very high order.”

Mr. Ravinder Garg, Registrar, NIIFT said, “The projects presented by the students are need-based industry projects. The M.Sc. and M.Des. programs at NIIFT are the support systems for the garment industry wherein the students work under the direct supervision of industry and their faculty members while doing research projects.”

Dr Poonam Aggarwal Thakur, Principal NIIFT, congratulated the passing out students. She said, “On this occasion, I also invite the youth of Punjab to join NIIFT Mohali for career-oriented programs. The courses we offer at our centres’ are MSc. Fashion Design, B.Sc. Textile Design, B.Sc. Knitwear Design & Technology, B.Voc. Fashion Design & Garment Technology, M.Sc. Fashion Marketing & Management, M.Sc. Garment Manufacturing and Technology and M. Des. (Fashion & Textiles). Admissions are open now and the last date for submission of applications is 04th June 2023 for details one can visit”

The Institute is affiliated with I K Gujral (IKG) Punjab Technical University (PTU) and is offering the programs at its centres for Academic Session 2023.

The Trailblazing Jury

The jury which evaluated the projects of M. Des. (F & T), M.Sc. (FMM) and M.Sc. GMT comprised eminent personalities such as Mr Vinay Midha, Professor, Textile Technology NIT, Jalandhar; Ms Shipra K. Gulati, E-commerce Entrepreneur; Ms Ravita Garment Engineer, Vardhaman; Dr Meeta Gawri, Course Coordinator (CC)-FMM; Mr Kamaljit Singh Rana, CC-GMT; Dr Poonam Aggarwal Thakur, CC-M.Des. Cum Principal NIIFT, Mohali and Ludhiana; Mr. Madan Lal, Eminent International Artist, Dr. Radha Kanwal Sharma, Research Analyst; Ms. Shwetambari, Academician and Dr. Agyapreet, Textile Technologist.

An Immersive Learning Experience

It is to be noted that M. Des. (F & T is a two-year degree programme in Design which immerses you in a research-based approach to design within the context of services and social innovation. In the fourth semester, the students have to work on a degree project which provides a challenging platform. In M.Sc. FMM the students work in conjunction with the known names of the industry for a period of three months. MSc GMT is a two-year course which develops in students the ability to make intelligent business decisions with prudence. NIIFT is the only institute in the country which has this course in its curriculum.

Recognizing Talent

Awards were also given to students for their projects. The award categories for this year for all degree project presentations were Best Degree Project, Most Innovative Project, and Most Industry Relevant Project. These were given by the Director, NIIFT; Registrar, NIIFT; Principal NIIFT and Eminent Jury Members.

In MDES (F&T) the Best Degree Project Award went to Kuljit Kaur while the Most Industry Relevant Award was bagged by Sanjana Shukla and the Most Innovative Project went to Shakti. In M. Sc FMM Best Degree Project was awarded to Nikita and Best Industry Project Award went to Agatha Joseph and the Most Innovative Project Award went to Kajal. In M.Sc. GMT the Best Degree Project was awarded to Prachi Verma, Most Industry Relevant Project Award was bagged by Himani Bir and Most Innovative Project was awarded to Shivani and Gourvee Sharma.

It is pertinent to mention that students have been placed in leading Brands and companies like Zara, Lifestyle, Marks & Spencer, Kapsons, Sportking, Trident, Vardhman, Orient Craft, Tynor, Cascade, Octave, Knitting Concepts & many more and Designers like Tarun Tahiliani, Satyapaul, Ritu Kumar, J J Valaya to name a few.

Comments are closed.